Community Council

The Abergwyngregyn Community Council has seven councillors and a paid Clerk to the Council. It meets four times a year in the Community Room in the Old Mill. Meetings are open although members of the public may only speak on an issue at the invitation of the Chairperson. Anyone who wishes to raise a matter should contact the Chairperson, a councillor or the Clerk before the meeting. A notice giving the time and location is posted on the village notice board before every meeting.

The Community Council receives a small precept from the general rate which covers the Community Clerk’s salary, audit fees, stationary and expenditure approved by the Council. For example, the Council makes a grant towards grass cutting in the churchyard.

Community Councillors are elected to serve for a period of three years. If anyone leaves between elections, a replacement may be co-opted on to the Council. Anyone living within the Community boundaries may apply to become a councillor, subject to some restrictions. If more than seven names are submitted, an election is called and conducted by Gwynedd County Council.

The Community Council is represented on local committees and organisations, including the Abergwyngregyn Regeneration Company Ltd, the Almshouse Charity Committee, Traeth Lafan Committee and the Aber Heritage Valley Partnership. It has limited powers but is able to influence policy-making bodies. For example, it is consulted by both Gwynedd County Council and the Snowdonia National Park Authority on all planning issues within the boundaries of the Parish of Abergwyngregyn.

The Community Council actively supports the initiatives of the Abergwyngregyn Regeneration Company and the Aber Heritage Valley Partnership to improve the quality of life for all who live in the village, to enhance the experience of visitors and to protect the valley’s heritage and natural beauty.